Welcome to my Primal Lifestyle world.  I eat real food – meat, fish, eggs, vegetables, fruit, and good fats from nuts, seeds, coconut, olives, and avocado – but no processed foods, little dairy, no grains, few beans, and no sweeteners bat honey occasionally. The results have been amazing. I sleep better. My athletic performance has improved. And I keep losing weight even though I am eating more.

A bit of background:
I first started low-carbing (Atkins) in September 2005 at 53 years of age and 131 kgs (289lbs) on a 170cm (5’7″)frame. I lost 29.6 kgs (65lbs) in 5 months and felt fantastic. I put on all my weight after an accident in 1997 to both Achilles tendons which I had surgically ‘fixed’ after 2 years (8-% left ankle and about 95% right). My favoured exercise of walking (5-8 kms daily) was denied me due to the injury and after the operation, due to my weight gain, it was just as hard and painful as before! So I just got fatter and fatter. I climbed to 131 kgs and was in constant pain from ankles, knees and back. I finally decided to act. I had picked up the Atkins book and had a read, thought (idly) I could do that, and then just sat on it – the information and my fatt bum! Then, after 15 months on the dole, I got a job! I started Atkins the same day and have never looked back. I no longer have pain, my blood pressure went from sky high (3 eye bleeds during coughing episodes when I had the flu last May) to 110/76, and I had so much energy.

The other plus was discovering I was gluten intolerant. After suffering migraines for my whole life, since infancy, I was migraine free after 5 days on low carb and have never had one since. And I had the whole range of food intolerance symptoms: migraine and headaches; gastro-intestinal symptoms including stomach aches, irritable bowel, diarrhoea, urinary urgency; eczema and other itchy skin rashes; nasal congestion (stuffy or runny nose); depression, unexplained tiredness, impairment of memory and concentration,; tachycardia (fast heart beat);; irritability, restlessness, inattention, difficulty settling to sleep, night waking. All caused by gluten and modern high carb foods

In March 2006 I had a car accident which initially slowed me up and sent me right off track. While I didn’t go back to lots of refined carbs, I did go back to eating too much potatoes – and they were my big downfall. I had a bad deep tissue bruising injury to my left leg caused by the dashboard and steering wheel coming down and bouncing off it. SInce then I have languished terribly but am now really dedicated to getting back on track.

I found the link to the Primal Lifestyle on a New Zealand low carb forum, of all places, and have been reading up on the Primal Lifestyle and it is for me. I started (really restarted after 4 years+) my low carb eating plan on 5 Deember 2010 at 122.0 kgs – I’m very ashamed of putting so much back on and in just 10- days I have lost 8 (yes, that is EIGHT) kgs.  And I have started walking again, up to 2km today.

So stick around for nice recipes and my thoughts on the Primal Lifestyle.

